A woman's guide to money, relationships and the law in Ontario

Listen to this as a podcast

Your financial rights and responsibilities

Do you want information to help you make good financial decisions in your personal relationships? This guide is for you! 

Relationships can mean different things to different people. You can have important relationships with people you live with, who you are related to, who you raise kids with, the person you love, or the person or people you share your life with. You can be in a relationship with someone you consider to be your friend, to be your boyfriend, girlfriend, common-law spouse, partner, or husband or wife. Often people who are in significant relationships share money and expenses, and depend on each other financially. 

Many laws affect your financial rights and responsibilities within your relationships. In Ontario most of the laws apply to two-person relationships and some laws apply differently to married couples than to partners who are not married. Either way, these law can affect you financially when you enter a new relationship and when you end one. 

Even when you are happily entering a new relationship, it is important to plan ahead, to be aware of what you are entitled to if the relationship ends, and to know the laws and how they relate to your situation.

This guide outlines the financial rights and responsibilities of people in relationships in Ontario and highlights the differences for married women and women who are in spousal relationships but are not married. For more legal information about topics that are not covered by this guide, see "Where to get help when you need it".

The information on this website is general legal information only. It is not a substitute for getting legal advice about individual situations.

Click on the links in the sidebar to find out information about each topic.

This project was made possible with the generous financial support of The Law Foundation of Ontario.


Creative: thepublicstudio.ca Web: amphibian.info

Écoutez en baladodiffusion

Vos droits et vos responsabilités en matière de finances 

Cherchez-vous de l'information pour vous aider à prendre de bonnes décisions en matière de finances dans vos relations personnelles ? Ce guide est pour vous !

Une relation intime, ce n'est pas la même chose pour tout le monde. Vous pouvez avoir des relations importantes avec des personnes avec qui vous vivez, avec qui vous avez un lien de parenté, avec la personne que vous aimez ou avec la personne ou les personnes avec qui vous partagez votre vie. Vous pouvez être en relation avec une personne que vous considérez comme votre « chum », votre « blonde », votre conjointe ou conjoint de fait, votre partenaire ou votre épouse ou époux. Il arrive souvent que deux personnes qui vivent une relation importante partagent l'argent et les dépenses et dépendent l'une de l'autre sur le plan financier.

Plusieurs lois régissent vos droits et vos responsabilités en matière de finances dans le cadre des relations. En Ontario, certaines lois s'appliquent différemment selon qu'il s'agit de personnes mariées ou de personnes qui ne le sont pas. Quel que soit le cas, ces lois vous touchent financièrement au début d'une relation et lorsqu'elle se termine. 

Même si tout est parfait au début de la relation, il est important de prévoir l'avenir, de savoir à quoi vous aurez droit si votre relation prend fin, de connaître les lois et comment elles s'appliquent à votre situation. 

Le présent guide porte sur les responsabilités et les droits financiers des personnes qui vivent en couple en Ontario et souligne les différences entre les femmes qui sont mariées et celles qui vivent en union de fait. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les sujets discutés dans ce guide, voir, Où trouver l'aide dont vous avez besoin.

Les renseignements que vous trouverez ici sont des renseignements juridiques généraux et ne peuvent pas remplacer les conseils juridiques professionnels sur les situations individuelles.



La réalisation du projet  a été rendue possible grâce au généreux appui financier de La Fondation du droit de l’Ontario.

 

Creative: thepublicstudio.ca Web: amphibian.info