Open Letter Urges Prime Minister to Make Good on His Commitment to the Right to Housing

OPEN LETTER URGES PRIME MINISTER TO MAKE GOOD ON  HIS COMMITMENT TO THE RIGHT TO HOUSING 
 
                                                                                                                                                                         
OTTAWA (August 14, 2018) - At a press conference in Ottawa today advocates released an open letter to Prime Minister Trudeau signed by over 170 organizations and prominent Canadians urging the Prime Minister to make good on his commitment to the right to housing by enshrining that right in upcoming National Housing Strategy legislation. 

The letter was penned by Amnesty International Canada, Campaign 2000: End Child and Family Poverty in Canada, Canada Without Poverty, the Canadian Alliance to End Homelessness, housing and homelessness researcher Emily Paradis, and the Social Rights Advocacy Centre. Supported by the UN Special Rapporteur on the right to housing, the letter outlines key requirements of right to housing legislation consistent with international human rights law.

“We’ve come together to show the Prime Minister that there is broad-based support for legislated recognition of the right to housing and to offer a way forward,” said Tim Richter, President of the Canadian Alliance to End Homelessness. “Canada’s housing and homelessness crisis is the result of a failure to protect human rights. If we’re serious about fixing this crisis, then Canada must live up to our international human rights commitments and have a legislated right to housing as the foundation of our National Housing Strategy.”

Among the letter’s signatories are national organizations including the Canadian Housing & Renewal Association, the Canadian Medical Association, the Native Women’s Association of Canada, the Canadian Lived Experience Advisory Council and the United Church of Canada along with prominent Canadians like street nurse and advocate Cathy Crowe, former Parliamentary Budget Officer Kevin Page, and former Liberal cabinet ministers Claudette Bradshaw and Irwin Cotler.

Every year over 235,000 people experience homelessness in Canada. Today, over 1.7 million Canadian households are living in unsafe, unsuitable, or unaffordable housing without better options available to them. These households are disproportionately led by women and feature overrepresentation of Indigenous peoples, people with disabilities, immigrants and refugees, youth and older adults, and members of racialized communities. All these people are experiencing the effects of a systemic crisis - a failure to protect and implement their human rights. 

“Canada has an opportunity for international human rights leadership with a clear, decisive and unambiguous commitment in legislation to the right to housing,” says Leilani Farha, UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Adequate Housing. “The National Housing Strategy made an historic commitment to progressively implement the right to housing; what’s needed now is legislation that ensures meaningful accountability to that right.” 

The open letter has been posted to http://nhs.socialrights.ca/ where Canadians are asked to add their names to the call for a legislated right to housing in Canada.                                                 

Draft legislation prepared by legal scholars and civil society experts is also available. This draft legislation offers suggestions on how the right to housing could be incorporated into the proposed National Housing Strategy legislation, consistent with international human rights law, and including mechanisms through which people affected by homelessness and inadequate housing can bring complaints about systemic violations and require the government to respond.                                                                                                        

Media Contacts

Tim Richter, Canadian Alliance to end Homelessness, Ph: 587-216-5615 ; Natalie Appleyard, Coalition Coordinator, Ph: 613 552-3439        

OPEN LETTER TO PRIME MINISTER JUSTIN TRUDEAU 

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, P.C., M.P. 

Prime Minister

Office of the Prime Minister     

80 Wellington Street                                                                                                                                                                                                                       

Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2 

August 14, 2018

Dear Prime Minister Trudeau,

On November 22, 2017 your government announced a national housing strategy based on its commitment to “progressively implement the right of every Canadian to access adequate housing.”

Consultations held in recent months regarding the National Housing Strategy demonstrated a strong consensus that implementing legislation must explicitly recognize the right to housing as defined in international human rights law. Widespread homelessness and lack of access to adequate housing, in so affluent a country as Canada is clearly one of the most critical human rights issues facing all levels of government. Rights-based legislation must establish mechanisms for those affected to raise systemic issues regarding the progressive realization of the right to housing and ensure that governments will respond by implementing remedies. These mechanisms need not rely on courts but they must be effective. 

In addition, the legislation must require goals and timelines for the reduction and elimination of homelessness that are consistent with international human rights obligations to realize the right to housing within the shortest possible time based on available resources.  It should ensure that Canada meets its commitments under the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development to eliminate homelessness by 2030. It must also include measures to eliminate the deep disparities in access to adequate, affordable, safe, and secure housing for Indigenous peoples, women, members of racialized communities, persons with disabilities, trans and gender-diverse people, older adults, children and young people, migrants, refugees, asylum-seekers and stateless persons. 

Draft legislation has been developed by civil society and experts, demonstrating how this can be accomplished and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss it with you.  

We call on the government to ensure that the National Housing Strategy legislation:

  • affirms the recognition of the right to housing as a fundamental human right;                                                                                                             
  • implements accountability mechanisms through which those affected by homelessness or inadequate housing can hold governments accountable for the   progressive realization of the right to housing;                                                                                                                                                 
  • ensures that the Office of the Federal Housing Advocate and National Housing Council are independent, adequately resourced and given authority to make   recommendations and require remedial action for compliance with the right to housing;                                                               
  • provides for an adjudication body which includes both experts in human rights and persons with lived experience of homelessness or inadequate housing, to   hold accessible hearings into systemic issues affecting the progressive realization of the right to housing and to recommend effective remedies;                                                                                                                                                                                                             
  • requires goals and timelines for the elimination of homelessness and access to adequate housing, in accordance with Canada’s obligations under   international human rights law and commitments to the Sustainable Development Goals;                                                                             
  • mandates rights-based participation by, and accountability to, diverse individuals and communities affected by homelessness and inadequate housing, in all   NHS mechanisms including the Office of the Federal Housing Advocate, National Housing Council, adjudication body, and community initiatives;                                                                                                                                                                                         
  • provides resources and support for local lived-experience-led monitoring of NHS programmes and for community initiatives to promote the right to adequate   housing engaging all levels of government;                                                                                                                                                 
  • provides for initiatives to identify and address the distinctive barriers, needs and rights of Indigenous peoples, co-developed with Indigenous peoples’   organizations, as well as housing strategies for First Nations, Inuit, Métis Nation, and urban and rural Indigenous partners, negotiated on the basis of Inuit-to   Crown, government-to-government, nation-to-nation relationships, to ensure the right to housing of Indigenous peoples both on and off reserve, in rural and   urban settings, consistent with the Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. 

 
The legislation implementing a rights-based national housing strategy provides an historic opportunity for the federal government to address, as a priority, a critical human rights issue at home and at the same time to provide leadership in human rights internationally.  It is the first time that legislation implementing the right to housing has been contemplated in Canada, and it is critical that this be done right. 

We look forward to ongoing dialogue with the government in the coming weeks and months, as this important legislation is brought forward. 

Sincerely,

Leilani Farha, UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Adequate Housing           

Anita Khanna, Campaign 2000:  End Child and Family Poverty in Canada     

Alex Neve, Amnesty International Canada         

Emily Paradis, Independent Researcher   

Bruce Porter, Social Rights Advocacy Centre         

Tim Richter, Canadian Alliance to End Homelessness  

 

CC The Honourable Andrew Scheer. P.C., M.P., Leader of the Official Opposition         

Mr. Jagmeet Singh, Leader of the New Democratic Party         

The Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos, P.C., M.P., Minister of Families, Children and Social Development 

For list of signatories (including NAWL), return to the "Take Action" or home page.   

NAWL Speaking Out

Taking Action

Une Lettre Ouvert Presse le Primier Ministre de Respecter Son Engagement Envers le Droit de Logement

UNE LETTRE OUVERTE PRESSE LE PREMIER MINISTRE DE RESPECTER SON ENGAGEMENT ENVERS LE DROIT AU LOGEMENT 

OTTAWA, le 14 août 2018 – En conférence de presse aujourd’hui à Ottawa, des défenseurs des droits de la personne ont publié une lettre ouverte signée par plus de 170 organismes et éminents Canadiens et pressant le premier ministre Trudeau de respecter son engagement envers le droit au logement en inscrivant explicitement celui-ci dans la loi visant la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie nationale sur le logement. 

Cette lettre est rédigée par Amnistie internationale – Section canadienne, Campagne 2000 : Éliminer la pauvreté chez les familles et les enfants au Canada, Canada Sans Pauvreté, l’Alliance canadienne pour mettre fin à l’itinérance, Emily Paradis, chercheuse en matière de logement et d’itinérance, ainsi que le Social Rights Advocacy Centre. Avec l’appui de la rapporteuse spéciale des Nations Unies sur le droit au logement, cette lettre énonce les principales exigences à l’égard de la loi sur le logement, conformément au droit international relatif aux droits de la personne.

« Nous nous sommes rassemblés afin de montrer au premier ministre la mesure du soutien accordé à la reconnaissance explicite du droit au logement dans la loi et pour contribuer à faire avancer les choses à cet égard », a affirmé Tim Richter, président de l’Alliance canadienne pour mettre fin à l’itinérance. « La crise du logement et de l’itinérance qui sévit au Canada découle du défaut d’assurer la protection des droits de la personne. Si le Canada souhaite réellement résoudre cette crise, il doit respecter ses engagements internationaux en matière de droits de la personne et reconnaître de façon explicite dans ses lois le droit au logement à titre de fondement de sa Stratégie nationale sur le logement. »

Les signataires comptent notamment des organismes nationaux, dont l’Association canadienne d’habitation et de rénovation urbaine, l’Association médicale canadienne, l’Association des femmes autochtones du Canada, le Canadian Lived Experience Advisory Council et L’Église Unie du Canada, ainsi que d’éminents Canadiens tels que Cathy Crowe, infirmière et intervenante de rue, Kevin Page, ancien directeur parlementaire du budget, de même que Claudette Bradshaw et Irwin Cotler, anciens ministres du cabinet libéral. 

Chaque année, au Canada, plus de 235 000 personnes se trouvent en situation d’itinérance. Aujourd’hui, plus de 1,7 million de ménages canadiens vivent dans des logements non sécuritaires, inadéquats ou inabordables et n’ont pas accès à des choix mieux adaptés à leurs besoins. Un nombre disproportionné de ces ménages est à la charge de femmes et on y trouve une représentation démesurément élevée d’Autochtones, de personnes handicapées, d’immigrants et de réfugiés, de jeunes et d’adultes âgés et de membres de communautés racialisées. Toutes ces personnes subissent les effets d’une crise systémique – un manquement à la protection et à la mise en œuvre de leurs droits fondamentaux. 

« Le Canada a là une occasion de faire preuve de leadership à l’échelle internationale en matière de droits de la personne en reconnaissant dans la loi de manière claire, décisive et explicite le droit au logement », affirme Leilani Farha, rapporteuse spéciale des Nations Unies sur le droit au logement convenable. « La Stratégie nationale sur le logement marque un engagement historique à mettre progressivement en œuvre le droit au logement; il convient maintenant de mettre en place une législation qui assure une reddition de comptes quant au respect de ce droit. »   

La lettre ouverte a été publiée à la page http://nhs.socialrights.ca/, où l’on demande aux Canadiens d’inscrire leur nom pour revendiquer la reconnaissance du droit au logement dans la législation canadienne. 

On y trouve également une ébauche de projet de loi rédigée par des juristes et des experts de la société civile. Cette ébauche présente des suggestions quant à la façon d’inscrire le droit au logement dans la législation proposée aux fins de la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie nationale sur le logement, conformément au droit international relatif aux droits de la personne, ainsi que des mécanismes permettant aux personnes affectées par l’itinérance et le logement inadéquat de déposer des plaintes visant des infractions systémiques et d’exiger l’intervention du gouvernement.                                                                                                                   

Relations avec les médias 

Tim Richter, Alliance canadienne pour mettre fin à l’itinérance,  Tél. : 587 216-5615 ; Natalie Appleyard, Coordinateur de campagne, Tél. : 613 552-3439 

 

LETTRE OUVERTE AU PREMIER MINISTRE JUSTIN TRUDEAU 

Le très honorable Justin Trudeau, C.P., député                                                                                                                                                                              

Premier ministre                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

Bureau du Premier ministre                                                                                                                                                                                                               

80, rue Wellington                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2 

14 août 2018

Monsieur le Premier Ministre,  

Le 22 novembre 2017, votre gouvernement a annoncé une Stratégie nationale sur le logement fondée sur son engagement à « mettre en œuvre progressivement le droit de chaque Canadien d’accéder à un logement convenable. » Nous comprenons que la loi de mise en œuvre sera déposée à l’automne.  
 
Les consultations qui ont eu lieu sur la Stratégie nationale sur le logement au cours des derniers mois ont révélé un consensus fort pour que la loi de mise en œuvre reconnaisse explicitement le droit au logement tel que défini par le droit international. Dans un pays aussi riche que le Canada, le fait que soient répandus l’itinérance et le manque d’accès à un logement abordable constitue manifestement un des enjeux les plus critiques en matière de droits de la personne pour tous les ordres de gouvernements. Une loi fondée sur les droits doit établir des mécanismes pour que les personnes concernées puissent soulever les enjeux systémiques relatifs à la mise en œuvre progressive du droit au logement et garantir que les gouvernements agissent en mettant sur pied des recours. Ces mécanismes n’ont pas à reposer sur les tribunaux, mais ils doivent être efficaces.  
 
De plus, la loi doit exiger des objectifs et des échéanciers pour la réduction et l’élimination de l’itinérance conformément aux obligations en vertu des droits internationaux de la personne de mettre en œuvre le droit au logement le plus rapidement possible, selon les ressources disponibles. Elle devrait garantir que le Canada respecte son engagement de mettre fin à l’itinérance d’ici 2030 en vertu du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030. Elle doit aussi comprendre des mesures pour éliminer les disparités profondes dans l’accès à un logement convenable, abordable et sécuritaire pour les Autochtones, les femmes, les membres de communautés racialisées, les personnes handicapées, les personnes trans et les personnes de diverses identités de genre, les aînés, les enfants et les jeunes, les immigrants, les réfugiés, les demandeurs d’asile et les personnes apatrides.  
 
Une ébauche de loi a été rédigée par la société civile et les experts afin de démontrer comment cela pourrait être accompli, et nous serions heureux d’avoir l’occasion d’en discuter avec vous.  
 
Nous demandons au gouvernement de s’assurer que la loi relative à la Stratégie nationale sur le logement: 

  • affirme la reconnaissance du droit au logement comme un droit fondamental de la personne;                                                                                   
  • met en œuvre des mécanismes de reddition de comptes par lesquels les personnes affectées par l’itinérance ou le logement inadéquat peuvent tenir les gouvernements responsables de l’application progressive du droit au logement;                                                                                           
  • garantit que le Bureau du défenseur fédéral du logement et le Conseil national du logement soient indépendants, disposent de ressources adéquates et   aient  l’autorité requise pour faire des recommandations et exiger des mesures correctives pour la conformité au droit au logement;                                                                                                                                                                                                             
  • prévoit un organisme décisionnaire qui réunit à la fois des experts en droits de la personne et des gens ayant vécu en situation d’itinérance ou en logement   inadéquat, afin de tenir des audiences accessibles sur les enjeux systémiques qui affectent la mise en œuvre progressive du droit au logement et de   recommander des recours efficaces;                                                                                                                                                 
  • exige des objectifs et des échéanciers pour l’élimination de l’itinérance et l’accès à un logement convenable, conformément aux obligations du Canada en   vertu du droit international relatif aux droits de la personne et aux engagements relatifs aux Objectifs de développement durable.     
  • rend obligatoire la participation fondée sur les droits d’une variété de personnes et de collectivités affectées par l’itinérance et le logement inadéquat,   auxquelles des comptes devront également être rendus, dans tous les mécanismes de la SNL, y compris le Bureau du défenseur fédéral du logement, le   Conseil national du logement, l’organisme décisionnaire et les initiatives communautaires;                                                 
  • fournit des ressources et du soutien pour le suivi local des programmes de la SNL par des personnes ayant une expérience vécue et pour les initiatives   communautaires visant à promouvoir le droit à un logement convenable, ce qui concerne tous les ordres de gouvernement.                 
  • fournit des initiatives visant à aborder les obstacles, besoins et droits distinctifs des peuples autochtones, développés en collaboration avec les organisations   des peuples autochtones, ainsi que des stratégies de logement pour les Premières nations, les Inuits et la Nation Métis ainsi que les partenaires autochtones   urbains et ruraux, négociées sur la base des relations entre les Inuits et la Couronne, entre les gouvernements et entre les nations, pour garantir le droit au   logement des peuples autochtones tant en réserve que hors réserve, dans les milieux ruraux et urbains, conformément à la Déclaration sur les droits des   peuples autochtones.                                                                                                                                                                         
La loi de mise en œuvre d’une stratégie nationale sur le logement axée sur les droits de la personne constitue une occasion historique pour le gouvernement fédéral d’aborder de façon prioritaire une question critique de droits de la personne au pays, tout en agissant en meneur en matière de droits de la personne sur le plan international. Jamais auparavant le Canada n’a envisagé de mettre en œuvre une loi sur le droit au logement : il est donc crucial de bien faire les choses.
 
Dans le contexte de la présentation de cette loi importante, nous serons heureux de participer à un dialogue continu avec le gouvernement au cours des prochaines semaines.  
 

Cordialement, 

Leilani Farha, Rapporteuse spéciale des Nations unies sur le logement convenable                                                                                                                         

Anita Khanna, Campagne 2000                                                                                                                                                                                                     

Alex Neve, Amnistie internationale Canada                                                                                                                                                                                

Emily Paradis, chercheuse indépendante                                                                                                                                                                                   

Bruce Porter, Social Rights Advocacy Centre                                                                                                                                                                                 

Tim Richter, Alliance canadienne pour mettre fin à l’itinérance 
 
c. c. L’honorable Andrew Scheer, C.P., député, chef du Parti conservateur du Canada et chef de l’Opposition officielle                                                               

M. Jagmeet Singh, chef du Nouveau Parti démocratique (NPD)                                                                                                                                                 

L’honorable Jean-Yves Duclos, C.P., député et ministre de la Famille, des Enfants et du Développement social 

La liste des signataires (comprenant l'ANFD) est dans un post séparé.

Actions prises